COIL "Backwards" 2xLP

artist: COIL label: Cold Spring


Label: Cold Spring
Cat No: CSR203LP
- - -
After the ground-breaking release of 1990′s “Love’s Secret Domain” album, Coil were not dormant; the main project was “Backwards”, which was started in 1992, updated considerably between 1993 and 1995, and transferred in 1996 to New Orleans, where it was finished in the magic of the Nothing studios of Trent Reznor (Nine Inch Nails). The album saw the fruition of Jhonn Balance‘s recent vocal coaching, producing haunting, passionate vocals, while reaching new heights.
23 years after its initiation, these tracks have been beautifully preserved by Danny Hyde and are finally available in highest quality audio. Differing substantially from the later, remixed incarnation, “The New Backwards” (2008), “Backwards” contains the original versions of Coil’s much-loved tracks; ‘A Cold Cell’ and ‘Fire Of The Mind’, which have appeared on various compilations over the years, and are now presented as originally intended.
This album is the essential bridge between “LSD” and the later “Musick To Play In The Dark” series. It is an essential conduit, to understand the journey that was taken. It was to be released… it should have been released… but because of issues with grey men it wasn’t. It is now, so enjoy. -Danny Hyde
NB: This is limited double LP version, comes with a download card for the entire album in FLAC-format. CD version is also available!
[ t r a c k l i s t ]
A1. Intro
A2. Backwards
A3. Amber Rain
A4. Fire Of The Green Dragon
B1. Be Careful What You Wish For
B2. Nature Is A Language - The Test
B3. Heaven's Blade
C1. CopaCaballa
C2. Paint Me As A Dead Soul
C3. AYOR (It’s In My Blood)
D1. A Cold Cell
D2. Fire Of The Mind
[ n o t e s ]
Written, Performed, Mixed and Produced by Coil - Jhon Balance and Peter Christopherson
Jhon Balance: Vocals
Peter Christopherson: Additional Studio Vision Programming
Drew McDowell: Co-Writting
Danny Hyde: Co-Produce, Mixing, Writting, Programming/Performance (Akai Linn / Sampler/ D10 /Korg Polysix/ Nord)
Mastered by Gregg Janman at Hermetech Mastering
Artwork by Abby Helasdottir
Limited copies in stock,
Last Copy!