LE SYNDICAT "Timespace Losses 1982 / 1987" CD


Label: Monochrome Vision
Cat No: MV30
- - -
Le Syndicat:
Le Syndicat started its activity in 1982, it was the band founded by Jan-Marie Onni (Ruelgo) and Van Minh Lê. Involved were also other people, they all were plastic arts students from Paris. From the very beginning, they claimed to be an association for performances. Actually, their first performances were intended to make a maximum noise as possible, with a lot of TV/radio receivers, manipulating the antennas and volume in direct. Soon they constituted a bank of sounds on tapes: shortwaves, TV static, noise of the city etc. They played tapes on walkmans, adding voice, metal junk and portable beat-box Roland TR606. The sources were brutally injected in the microphone inputs of cassette decks via multipliers of entries, the sounds came to print in depth on the tape, distorted and burned until marrow. Loops, cut-ups and unidentifiable noises followed each other at a wild rhythm in a constant cataclysmic storm, in continuous mutation.
Since 1983, Le Syndicat tapes got the special design by Zorïn, who was painter, graphic designer and visual scientist. His professional work marked the birth of Le Syndicat tape label. In the same year, they attended industrial music festival Nuit et Brouillard and met Pierre Jolivet (Pacific 231) who introduced them to the worldwide mailart network. Together, they started Ankh project and released the "L'Enfer Est Intime vol.0" compilation.
Despite the constructivist influences and military aesthetics of album covers, Le Syndicat didn't recognized itself as a part of industrial music movement: even if their sound was extreme, this energy didn't have anything negative or nihilistic. Their fascination for chaos, strength and violence was not relieved by provocation but just by pleasure to manipulate the noise material - that was the difference between industrial music and empiric bruitism.
After releasing some intense noise albums in the mid 80's, Ruelgo with new member Veïdt Mjölnïr turned to more musical styles, experimenting with melodies, ambient loops, heavy rhythms etc. They released some vinyls on RRRecords, Bog Art and Staalplaat. Also, Staalplaat re-released their classic furious noisecraft albums on 2CD-anthology, followed by two powerful "panzerbeat" CDs "Macisto Fuzztanz" and "Sardanapale". The last ever Le Syndicat album "Maximalist" was published by Daft Records in 1995, it was more like techno-grooves and marked the end of the project which became out of business. The members started their solo efforts and continue them up to present days.
Timespace Losses 1982 / 1987 :
All recorded between 1982 and 1987 and originally released on compilations: "The Call Of Cthulhu" (1985, Cthulhu Records), "Sexorama vol.3" (1987, ZSF Produkt), "Morality" (1985, Broken Flag), "Wolfsangel" (1986, Nihilistic Recordings), "L'Enfer Est Intime Vol.00" (1985, VP231), "L'Enfer Est Intime Vol.01" (1985, VP231), "Kill SPK" (1985, Beast 666 Tapes), "Dry Lungs I" (1985, Placebo Records)
Bonus-track "All armi" is the first ever live recording made at "L'Abbatoir" club in 1982.
Some tracks optimized by Ruelgo 2009, specially for this re-edition.
This CD is a collection of rare tracks by this most famous french noise project, previously released on obscure tape compilations and includes the very first live recording session. It represents the pioneering bruitism music in the most raw and powerful mode, it's still going strong and hitting hard, thus should be not missed by any real noise fans. Limited to 500 copies. -Label Description
[ t r a c k l i s t ]
1. Trépan
2. Dead Vulva
3. Eternité | audio sample
4. Argument Total Pt.4
5. Matériel Part 1
6. Progressiv Filth
7. Ass Hunt | audio sample
8. Sex Und Vomit
9. Masochirkull
10. Suck The Putrefied Kaiser 1 | audio sample
11. Ritus Torture
12. Suck The Putrefied Kaiser 3 | audio sample
13. Full Of Shit
14. Déflagration
15. Vaccine | audio sample
16. All Armi - Live At "L'Abbatoir" Paris
[ n o t e s ]
Tracks 1-15 recorded 1982-1987 and originally released on compilations
Track 16 is the first ever Le Syndicat live recording, made at L'Abbatoir club in 1982
Track 13 is collaboration material with Yellowhouse
Tracks 1, 3, 6 and14 taken from "The Call Of Cthulhu" Cass (Cthulhu, 1985)
Tracks 2, 7 and 8 taken from "Sexorama 3" 2xCass (ZSF, 1985)
Track 4 taken from "Morality" Cass (Broken Flag, 1985)
Track 5 taken from "Wolfsangel" 2xCass (Nihilistic, 1986)
Track 9 taken from "L'Enfer Est Intime Vol. 2" 2xLP (VP 231, 1985)
Tracks 10, 12 and 15 taken from "Kill SPK" Cass (Beast 666, 1985)
Track 11 taken from "L'Enfer Est Intime Vol. 0" Cass (VP 231, 1985)
Track 13 taken from "Dry Lungs" LP (Placebo, 1985)
Back In Stock!