PSYCHIC TV "Themes: Special Edition" 7xCD Box

artist: PSYCHIC TV label: Cold Spring


Label: Cold Spring
Cat No: CSR123B
- - -
For the first time, all THEMES albums by PSYCHIC TV released together, in a sumptuous, matt laminate, spot-varnished box set. The music itself was designed not only as soundtrack but also for subsequent use by Initiates of The Temple Ov Psychick Youth in their rituals as Functional music intended only to aid in the process of making things happen. It is a practical tool. Thee essential collection of rare, archive and modern PTV ritual / esoteric musick!
Each CD has been carefully remastered and is presented in it's own matt laminate, spot-varnished mini-LP sleeve. The box also includes a 32-page booklet of rare photos and essays.
"Themes" was originally released in 1982 as a limited bonus LP with the first 5000 copies of the legendary PSYCHIC TV album "Force The Hand Of Chance". Musicians: Stan Bingo, Peter Christopherson (Coil, Throbbing Gristle, Soisong), Genesis P-Orridge, and David Tibet (Current 93).
"Themes 2" was originally released on LP in 1985 by Temple Records and subsequently reissued as an extended CD version by Cold Spring in 1997. Musicians: Genesis P-Orridge, Alex Fergusson, John Gosling (Zos Kia, Coil, Mekon). "Themes 2" is presented here as a 2 CD set, including the full vinyl version - plus the original "Unclean" 12" and it`s two B side tracks that were recorded in the same sessions.
"Themes 3" was originally released on LP in 1986 by Temple Records and is presented here for the first time on CD, completely remastered. Musicians: Genesis P-Orridge, John Gosling (Zos Kia, Coil, Mekon), Mark Sangerman, Monte Cazazza. "Themes 3" is presented here as a 2 CD set, with an unheard, yet legendary version performed in Boston, US by Genesis P-Orridge and John Gosling under the title of "Pagan Easter".
"Themes 4" is a brand new Psychic TV album, recorded by the late partner of Genesis P-Orridge, Lady Jaye and Psychic TV. Compiled by Genesis Breyer P-Orridge, Ryan Martin and Bryin Dall. Musicians: Lady Jaye Breyer P-Orridge, Genesis Breyer P-Orridge, Larry Thrasher, Bryin Dall. -Label Description
This is Special Edition come with a bonus CD "Live In Basildon" 1986!
[ t r a c k l i s t ]
1-1. Part I. Piano And Clarinet
1-2. Part II. 23 Tibetan Human Thigh Bones
1-3. Part III. Cowbell, Bicycle Wheels And Vibes
1-4. Part IV. New Guinea Headhunters Pipe, Large And Small Drum
1-5. Part V. Piano And String Machine
1-6. Part VI. Recording Made At Jonestown, Guyana At The Time Of The Suicides
1-7. Part VII. African Initiation Drum And Animal Tusk Horn
1-8. Part VIII. Various Temple Bells, Gongs, Cymbals And Vibes
Themes 2
2-1. Themes 2 Part One
2-2. Themes 2 Part Two
2-3. Themes 2 Part Three
2-4. Unclean
2-5. Mirrors
2-6. Unclean Monks
Themes 2: A Prayer For Derek Jarman
3-1. The Loops Of Mystical Union
3-2. Elipse Of Flowers
3-3. Mylar Bees (Parts 1 And 2)
3-4. Mylar Bees (Part 3)
3-5. Prayer For Derek
3-6. Rites Of Reversal
Themes 3
4-1. untitled
4-2. untitled
Themes 3
5-1. A Previously Unheard Alternate Version Of The Set Of Themes 3
Themes 4: Lady Jaye
6-1. I'm Making A Mirror
6-2. I Like My Holidays (A Children's Story)
6-3. Gobbledegook
6-4. Mother Jack (A Children's Story)
6-5. Candy Factory
6-6. I Love You, I Know
6-7. This Is The Final War
Live In Basildon
7-1. Thee Degenerate
7-2. She Touched Me
7-3. Unclean
7-4. Riot In Thee Eye Ov Sky
7-5. Southern Comfort
7-6. Roman P.
7-7. Retinal
7-8. Ov Power
7-9. Godstar
[ n o t e s ]
Produced by Genesis P-Orridge (tracks: 2-1 to 2-6, 3-1 to 3-4, 3-6) / Ken Thomas (tracks: 1-1 to 1-8) / Psychic TV (tracks: 1-1 to 1-8)
Performed by Genesis P-Orridge (tracks: 1-1 to 1-8, 2-1 to 2-6, 4-1 to 5-1, 7-1 to 7-9), Peter Christopherson (tracks: 1-1 to 1-8), David Tibet (tracks: 1-1 to 1-8), Stan Bingo (tracks: 1-1 to 1-8), John Gosling (tracks: 2-1 to 2-6, 4-1 to 5-1), Alex Fergusson (tracks: 2-1 to 2-6, 7-1 to 7-9), Mark Sanger Man (tracks: 4-1, 4-2), Matthew Best (tracks: 7-1 to 7-9), Monte Cazazza (tracks: 4-1, 4-2), Mouse (tracks: 7-1 to 7-9) and Phillip Erb (tracks: 7-1 to 7-9).
Engineer by Ken Thomas (tracks: 1-1 to 1-8) and Nains (tracks: 2-1 to 2-6)
Mixed by Ken Thomas (tracks: 2-4 to 2-6)
Mastered by Steve Angel (tracks: 2-1 to 2-6)
Remastered by Denis Blackham (tracks: 2-1 to 2-6), Genesis P-Orridge (tracks: 3-1 to 3-6) and Larry Thrasher (tracks: 3-1 to 3-6)
Liner Notes by Genesis P-Orridge and Larry Thrasher
Images On Pages 17 And 18 - Image For Cd5 by Mick Mercer
Images On Pages 2 And 23 by Peter Ashworth
Layout by Abby Helasdottir
Last Copy!