ULTRA "Roman Holiday (Special Edition)" 2xLP + 7inch

artist: ULTRA label: Dom America


Label: Dom America
Cat No: DOM US 2LP 21 / DOM USS 22
- - -
Double LP reissue of 1997 9-track CD, with an additional 7 tracks taken from various 7"s and compilations to bring you 16 songs of unparalleled refinement and sensitivity (and often a great deal less). Bonus 7" E.P. contains two previously unreleased tracks culled from the 'Zoll' sessions. -Label Description
1. Enjoyment or satisfaction derived from observing the suffering of others.
2. A violent public spectacle or disturbance in which shame, degradation, or physical harm is intentionally inflicted on one person or group by another.
3. Album title by a triad of libertines, known as ULTRA, generally assumed to originate from the Pacific Northwest of the US, with ties to musical luminaries from the industrial, avant-garde and power electronics underbelly. An album title that compiles selections from a plethora of sources now long out of print, generally impossible to find and, in a few cases, unreleased. This double LP + 7" reissue represents an even more thorough excretion than the CD version released by g.m.b.h. too many years ago. It is a welcomed purging for those of us who remember when "noise" and industrial" music were more than a cacophony of untalented alterna-culture jocks pretending to be 'different'.
ULTRA has a lengthy history, paralleling that of bands like Whitehouse and The Sodality. It's industrial, avant-garde, electronic music of the likes no longer known. ULTRA combines the fine art of subtlety, poetry and some bizarre sense of decorum here that must be synonymous with piano. Because piano = sophistication, right? The tracks are not necessarily overt or belligerent the way that modern 'noise' musicians tend to be trained, although each track has its own disturbingly prickly quality.
ULTRA creates a mixed sense of elation, ease, discomfort and a wantonness for predation upon repeated listenings. This music has a mercurial nature in that it continues to assume new shapes and presents alternate visions; elucidates novel anxieties; promotes unforeseen paranoias; and instigates troubling moral dilemmas. It's like a subconscious setback, a week spent in stupor chasing the dragon or, alternately, a nighttime prowl for some tail to bloody up real good. It's the catch being better than the chase. It's the fulmination of libertinage and it's strung together with enough instrumentation to disconcert the taker for all he has.
He? I'm sure there are a few women who might find this titillating, but not as many as the men who will get off on such charms like 'New Centurion' or 'Whistle for your Mistress'. The fully depraved will probably drop seed to 'Letter of Introduction'—possibly the most disturbing track I've ever heard alongside 'Danse Macabre' by Celtic Frost or a track or two from Premature Ejaculations. The music becomes Ted Bundy wearing the cast to lure prey into his van. It's the pervert luring the kid into his car with candy. It's the record on the turntable of the bogeyman that propels him before his nightly stalkings.
This is a true celebration and exaltation of personal gratification, no matter the cost to others. Yes, libertine to the bone!"-Tyler Davis, The Ajna Offensive
SPECIAL EDITION comes with signed/numbered insert and additional art print by Dan Bantz and pressed on RED VINYL
NOTICE:  Standard Edition pressed on black vinyl is also available!
Highest recommendation from LV headquarters to those who have vigorous imagination. Your imagination/obsession is more fertile, creatures born from Ultra shall talk to you louder, deeper and closer. That's not ART but ULTRA. 
[ t r a c k l i s t ]
A1. Clusterfuck (Family Version)
A2. Whistle For Your Mistress
A3. Ultratumba
A4. Doll Rally
B1. New Centurion (7" Version)
B2. I Can't Stand A Bitchy Chick
B3. Malaria
B4. Perfect Pitch And Manchester United
B5. Letter Of Introduction
C1. Wad
C2. Wad II
C3. Yohimbe
D1. Clusterfuck II
D2. La Reunión
D3. Abandoned
D4. ...And Forgotten
E1. Subway Etiquette MkII
F1. La Fixation Insupportable
[ n o t e s ]
Produced by Jon Carlson
Executive Producer: Judd Taylor
Mastered for vinyl by John Golden
Artwork for front cover drawing by James C.
Artwork for back cover lettering by Reuben S.
Tracks A1-A4, B1, B3-B5, and C2 previously released on the Roman Holiday CD (G.M.B.H., 1997)
Track A4 previously released on the Circusirus triple 7" compilation (Petri Supply, 1996)
Tracks B1-B2 previously released on the I Can't Stand a Bitchy Chick 7" (Aquilifer Sodality, 1989)
Tracks B4-B5 previously released on the Letter of Introduction 7" (Syntactic, 1997)
Track C1 previously released on the Ohren Des Kaiser Hirohito double CD compilation (Dom), 1993)
Track C3 previously released on the Infernal Proteus quadruple CD compilation (Ajna, 2002)
Track D1 previously released on the Undying compilation LP (Freedom in a Vacuum, 1990)
Track D2 previously released on the Statement 1961 compilation double LP/CD/7" (Ironflame, 2004)
Tracks D3-D4 previously released on the Dedicated to Hans Bellmer 7" (Ajna, 1999)
Tracks E1-F1 constitute previously unreleased material
This special edition has been long out of print at the source.
Last Copy!